BBC reveals shortlist for Sports Personality of the Year 2014

The shortlist for for BBC Sports Personality of the Year has been announced today.

The ten nominees were compiled from a variety of sports by a 12-man panel pieced together by the BBC last month.

The list includes high profile names such as golfer Rory McIlroy, footballer Gareth Bale and the new Formula 1 World Champion, Lewis Hamilton.

Other names appearing on the list are Carl Froch (boxer), Max Whitlock (gymnast), Adam Peaty (swimmer), Lizzy Yarnold (Skeleton), Charlotte Dujardin (dressage), Jo Pavey (Athletics) and Paralympic skier Kelly Gallagher and guide Charlotte Evans.

Past winners of the award include Tennis superstar Andy Murray, Tour de France champion Sir Bradley Wiggins and cycling supremo Mark Cavendish.

The awards show takes place on 14 December at the SSE Hydro in Glasgow. The public can vote for their favourite candidate by phone or online whilst the programme is broadcasted live on BBC 1.

Six other awards will also be handed out on the night, consisting of:

  • Team of the Year
  • Coach of the Year
  • Overseas Sports Personality of the Year
  • Young Sports Personality of the Year
  • Helen Rollason Award
  • Sports Unsung Hero

For more information, visit the Sports Personality website.

Photo credits: BBC Sports

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s